GF Cranberry-Orange Muffins

Recently I came across the recipe by Dr. Stephen Gundry called cranberry orange muffins, they can be vegan and gluten free. If you’re trying to get away from sugar this is a good option. I’ve given up on making just six muffins as the recipe calls for because they go so fast at our house that there’s never any left when I go back for more. So I double the recipe.

They contain healthy coconut flour, sea salt baking soda, coconut oil, just like sugar, eggs, or vegan eggs, some orange zest and Cranberries. Like the coffee cake muffin recipe I shared earlier these are amazing with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk for breakfast. Moist and they can be eaten on the run.


GF Coffee Cake Cupcakes

One of the things that I’ve been hungry for recently has been a coffee cake, not exactly on my gluten-free safe eating list. There is nothing quite like having a moist coffee cake with a cup of coffee or a glass of milk. I can remember when I was younger and spending a lot of time on the road it was easy to stop by a convenience store and buy a Tastykake Coffee Cake Junior and a cup of coffee for that mid-morning or mid-afternoon energy on the go. My pre-celiac days.

I chose Martha Stewart’s mini coffee cake muffin recipe because I generally have success with her research and experience. Often if I bake something in a square pan it dries out before I’ve eaten it all. Others in my family prefer gluten in their baked goods.

GF Mini Coffee Cake Muffin

Delightful moist coffee cake

This recipe was pretty straightforward, brown sugar and flour for the topping, a little bit of salt, cinnamon, a little butter. And the batter itself was as you probably anticipate some baking powder and baking soda, salt and butter, sour cream, a little buttermilk and of course all-purpose flour. I substituted the all-purpose flour in the topping and in the batter with King Arthur’s Measure for Measure Gluten Free Flour. I wish that I would’ve doubled the recipe because my Kitchen Aid mixer doesn’t do very well with small quantities. I would have liked to had a lighter fluffier batter to start with when you mix the sugar and the butter together. Perhaps next time I’ll substitute coconut for the butter for the plant fat content. I used a silicone muffin pan that doesn’t need cupcake wrappers.

Results were amazingly good and every bit of delicious as what I remember from Tastykake’s Coffee Cake Juniors. Allot of sugar but delicious. Martha Stewart’s recipe calls for 24 mini muffins. I got 11 regular cupcake size muffins out of it.

Fried Green Tomatoes

We were in Georgia recently and decided to lookup the Whistle Stop Cafe featured in the 1991 movie Fried Green Tomatoes based on a novel by Fannie Flagg, located on McCracken Street in Juliette Georgia. Its stars  include Kathy Bates, Jessica Tandy, Mary Stuart Masterson, and Mary Louise Parker.

We were fortunate to get there mid-afternoon in February. The weather was warm and the little street was busy. The town street and surrounding area was allot smaller than the feel you get in the movie. The cafe’s operating hours are 11 AM to 4PM, they take MasterCard, Visa, and cash. Service dogs with current papers are welcome. It doesn’t look like they remodeled since the movie, it looks the same from what we remembered.

My gluten-free choice was a Swiss cheeseburger with lettuce, tomato, pickle and Ketchup. The hamburger had good flavor and no “barbecue sauce.” The french fries appeared like they had a coating of corn starch before they were deep fried. I was a bit surprised that the cheesecake wasn’t the traditional Philadelphia style cheesecake but a cake with about seven layers. It looked good but is not gluten-free. It was interesting to see in the recipe they share there is corn meal in the fried green tomato batter, I would have assumed it was all wheat flour.

The southern fried chicken with buttered lima beans and mashed potatoes looked pretty good too.

We watched the train go by, went by the little church that is now United Methodist. It was worth the extra time that we spent to find the Whistle Stop Cafe and understand more about the setting of The Fried Green Tomato Movie. It’s a bit out of the way so be sure to include this on one of your trips to southern Georgia, just north of Valdosta.

You Look Like You Eat Allot of Cereal

I’ll have to admit when my chiropractor said to me “you look like you eat allot of cereal” I was totally in the dark, not sure what he would know about my nutritional habits from a cursory view.

For the last twenty-years or so I’ve always had an annual physical and in the last ten -years I’ve seen my chiropractor routinely for wellness adjustments. In recent years he would say I’m not sure what else I can do for you. I also avoided gluten since being diagnosed with celiac disease over twenty years ago. If I didn’t my stomach would bloat and I’d loose my energy. I baked my own gluten-free bread and cakes, make my own yogurt, focused on being gluten-free.

When the chiropractor made the “cereal” statement to me I was thinking breakfast but I was not eating allot of cereal in my view. I was alternating between 2-eggs and a banana, cooked old-fashioned or steel cut Irish Oatmeal, and rice squares. When eating cereal I added whole milk since I didn’t want to use milk that had been “processed and reformulated into 2-percent or skim etc.” feeling like that may be some folks issues with allergic reactions to milk and dairy products. I would often add a spoonful of sugar or honey and a sliced banana. I rarely had toast for breakfast. So my reaction to him was No, I eat allot of eggs and rotate my cereals for breakfast. His response to me was “you need to see my father.”

His father was a nutritionist who had experienced allot of success with his patients following a heritage diet. That is, if your ancestors were middle-European, or from southern-Africa, or Asia etc. hundreds of years ago what did they eat, and that is what your body genetically required. Probably allot of roots and greens. He also prescribed a blood test (that the insurance company would not pay for) that supported his view and confirmed that my diet was mostly on track when it came to basic nutrition. Some added nano-greens, vitamins and minerals were recommended as well as a membership to a local gym. For breakfast I reduced the cereal consumption and went to eating mostly eggs, a banana and a cup of coffee for breakfast. But my “cereal body” with the tummy fat and about twenty-pounds of excess weight did not melt away.

During this experience with the nutritionist the company I worked for had a wellness program that had health requirements that had to be met to get the best rate for health benefits. My burgeoning BMI (body mass index) finally became an issue. After hitting the gym three days a week and reducing my calories I was able to reduce the weight but I didn’t loose the “cereal body” my doctor referenced. I  had gained weight attempting to eat gluten-free, a frustration when I was hearing about others who lost weight when changing to a gluten free diet.

About 4-months ago I came across some references to Dr Stephen Gundry’s work and IMG_7083[1]lectins and decided to read his book The Plant Paradox where he takes a broader view on “cereal” than what we eat for breakfast, meaning the grain category including wheat, oats, barley, rye, rice etc.. I admit I’m not with him in his view of the origin of man but it makes sense if we create vaccines from the disease we’re trying to cure why wouldn’t we do the same with fat? My changes included eating 4-eggs (1 white with 4 yolks) and a banana for breakfast, some of his favorite coconut flour muffins and including hi-plant fat avocados which Dr. Gundry claims is the only food we can’t eat too much of and changing jobs to an active work instead of a desk job resulting in a loss of over 20-pounds and most of my “cereal body.”

I know life is a journey, so is it the higher-fat diet and less cereal grains or the less sedentary work and more active lifestyle or perhaps a combination of both? What I’ve learned is that I still have allot to learn. Starting this journey with a high-probiotic diet to reducing my cereal grain consumption took me back to a weight I had over 40-years ago when I felt my best. I have not adopted a Vegan or Vegetarian diet but today thankfully, I can physically out-work most 20-year-olds.

I’d love to know your story as well especially when it comes to the reduction of cereal grains in your diet.


Gluten Free Coconut flour

Using coconut flour is becoming popular and is a great choice with allot of healthy plant based fats, fiber and protein. It’s great for diabetics and is gluten and grain free. If you’re following a gluten free, low glycemic, nut-free or Paleo diet this is a good alternative. Volume substitution is often 25 to 33 percent of wheat or other grain flours in a recipe. It is a stand alone flour and does not require other flours in the recipe. It’s often recommended to increase the eggs in the recipe when substituting.

There are many recipes for using coconut flour including, breads, cake, pie crust, cookies, muffins, biscuits, pancakes, pizza crust, and brownies. It can be substituted for almond flour. Erica Kerwien has over 100 amazing recipes in The Healthy Coconut Flour Cookbook. You may also want to try some of Johanna  Davidson’s recipes in Coconut Flour Recipes: The Ultimate Guide.

You can make your own Coconut Flour: or use a commercially available product from Bob’s Red Mill, Pillsbury, Arrowhead Mills, and Viva Naturals found at many grocery stores buy it bulk at Amazon or shop online.

*Banner Photo by Nipanan Lifestyle on Unsplash

Dr John H Kellogg’s Vegetarian Solutions

You may have wondered how people in the United States became cold cereal lovers as I have. Especially considering celiac disease and so many people getting on the gluten-free bandwagon.

Often the name Dr. John Harvey Kellogg comes up for his interest in vegetarian foods and his focus on disease being related to the microbial health of the gut or bacteria in the intestines. He is known for his Seventh-Day Adventist faith, establishing the Battle Creek Sanitarian and his focus on high fiber whole grain foods. He also used enemas to  clear the bowel and yogurt to replenish the intestinal health.

John received a patent for tempering  or rolling wheat berries including other grains like rice and oats calling his rolled wheat cereal Sanitas Toasted Corn Flakes. This process included the hull making it a processed whole grain cereal, avoiding the milling process. John’s brother Will who claimed to be part of the original invention wanted to add sugar to the flaked cereal process but John would not agree, so Kellogg’s of Battle Creek was born headed by brother Will Kellogg with his own version and exclusivity of the name Kellogg’s Corn Flakes. Kelloggs Corn Flakes includes malt flavor, salt and is fortified with vitamins and minerals.

A meat substitute patent was granted to John Kellogg in 1901 for Protose, a blend of nuts and grains, one of many vegetable meat alternatives. A previous farm Equipment manufacturer C.W. Post, a patient of Dr. John’s became a competitor after spending time at the Battle Creek Sanitarian.

Gluten is a lectin that has reaped havoc with many folks digestive systems and is difficult to overcome when eating cereal bakery products without traditional yeast to break down the gluten.  Some have been eating gluten free and no longer have the good bugs in the intestinal track to process the gluten. There are many gluten free cereals today that support the Celiac and a gluten free experience.

Chickpea Flour is Gluten Free

Chickpea’s in the legume family can also be called Chick pea, Egyptian pea, garbanzo, garbanzo bean, Bengal gram or just gram. It’s used to make farinatas , pancakes, bread, Halwa, cookies, Besan Laddu, cheese crackers and more when ground into a flour. It is often used in soups and stews as well as salads. There are over fifty-recipes on All Recipes for chickpea or garbanzo bean flour many in combination with potato or oat flour, and cornmeal for entree’s, soups, and deserts.

There are six USDA developed varieties of Chickpea plants released beginning with  Sarah in 1990, chickpeas-1882839_1920Myles, Sanford and Dwelley in 1994, Evens in 1997 and Sierra in 2003 for growing areas in United States and Canada. Chickpeas and gluten fall in the lectin category, called the offending protein’s according to Dr. Guntry in The Plant Paradox.

Barilla makes a chickpea rotini. You can make your own gluten free chickpea pasta as shown by Osteria La Buca’a chef Jason Neroni, and Claire Thomas. Michelle and Tony do a nice comparison on store bought gluten free pasta’s including Banza a chickpea pasta. You can buy chickpea flour from Bob’s Red Mill. Perhaps you want to make your own chickpea flour at home.

Lake Isle Press has a nice Chickpea Cookbook. The Chickpea Revolution cookbook has 85-plant based recipes for Chickpea flour.

Gluten Free Black Rice Flour contains Anthocyanins

Before we talk about black rice flour lets talk about the kernels it comes from. Black rice sometimes called Purple Rice is often labeled forbidden. Forbidden in the sense that it is reserved for the Chinese emperor to ensure a long life. Coming from the same plant family as Tai jasmine and Indonesian black rice with a similar nutty flavor profile and nutrient load. Black rice is the only rice with anthocyanins shown by the color.  Also used as natural dyes these purple colored pigments have also shown to improve vision and mental health, act as an antioxidant and protects against several diseases, a similar action in other fruits and leafy vegetables with the same color. Protect your clothing from potential stains while cooking.

A study by Rarastoeti Pratiwi at Gadjah Mada University describes about 24-varieties of black rice grown in Indonesia and their potential for cancer prevention, lowering the risk of an excess of glucose in the bloodstream often associated with diabetes and lowering high concentrations of fats or lipids in the blood. Exceptional health benefits as well as the risks. Rice supplies for the king were grown in central Java and Gunung Raung and Gunung Ijen.

Rebirth Rice from Thailand sells a Heirloom, Jasmine, and starchy but gluten free black rice they call Glutinous Black Rice you can buy through Simple to cook, and you can make rice flour with a blender, coffee grinder, or grain mill. In the United States Publix sells Natures Earthly Choice black rice. Kroger carries Village Harvest Black Rice from China.  and from Alibaba of course. You can buy black rice flour from Italy, Australia, and importers in the United States.

Recipes using black rice flour include, Artisan bread, brownies, delicious dredging for fish, porridge.


Gluten Free Brown Rice Flour

It’s commonly accepted that when we eat the whole of most things there is more nutrition than if we just eat a part whether its fruit, vegetables or grains. The same is true for rice. When the complete kernel is used including the outside bran, germ, and endosperm it’s considered whole grain. Grinding the grain to flour of course makes it a whole grain flour capturing all the nutrients from the kernel making it a better nutritional choice over white rice flour.

Japan’s National Agriculture and Food Research Organization, NARO discovered a method of stabilizing rice flour with a wet milling process. King Arthur’s brown rice flour is also stabilized with recipes online.  Bob’s Red Mill sells a stone-ground brown rice flour and often includes a few recipes on their bag like Walrus bread or walnut spice cookies. Hodgson Mills and Arrowhead Mills among other also manufacture gluten free brown rice flour as well.

Big beautiful Brown Rice

Like other flours without gluten, brown rice flour needs to be used in combination with other flours or starches. Common uses for this nutty flavored grain include bread, muffins, pancakes, and as a thickener for gravy and sauces. It’s also noted because of the manganese content to be great for your skin health as well. You can make your own brown rice flour using a Vita-Mix blender or a magic bullet.  When stored in an airtight container brown rice flour will store indefinitely. Wendy Esko’s book The Big Beautiful Brown Rice Cookbook is a nice recipe guide to Easy Brown Rice Cookbookcooking with brown rice. The Easy Brown Rice Cookbook gives you fifty unique and easy brown rice recipes as well.

According to the USDA a cup of raw medium grain brown rice has over 14 grams of protein with 688 grams of energy, and over 6 grams of fiber. Thiamin, Riboflavin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate DFE, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium, Zinc and a touch of Sodium also show on the nutritional chart.

Canyon’s Ancient Grains, 7-Grain, Country and Mountain White, Honey Oat, and Heritage Style Breads all include Brown Rice flour in their ingredients. Three Bakers also make a Whole Grain White Bread, 7-Ancient Grain, Rye Style, Great Seed, Max Omega, and Cinnamon Raisin breads all with brown rice flour. Ener-G’s Multi-grain breads use brown rice flour. Food for Life’s brown rice flour lineup includes, Brown Rice, Exotic Black Rice, Raisin Pecan, Rice Almond, Rice Millet, Rice Pecan, along with two yeast free brown rice breads Brown Rice, and Multi-Seed.

Sometimes confused with flour rice starch has been used for it’s soft mouth feel in baby food among other things. “A New rice starch extraction method for product savings [over the traditional high alkali processing method has been found] Food technologist marks breakthrough in rice starch procurement, replacing a 60-year-old method with a more ‘efficient and environmentally-friendly way’ to separate a rice kernel’s tightly-bound portions of starch and protein,” writes Lindsey Partos.

Dog food manufacturers like freshpet recognize the value of nutritional brown rice.  Instinct makes a raw freeze-dried dog food with salmon and brown rice. Not all dogs, like the King Charles Cavalier in many cases will be able to handle the fat content in the salmon but the brown rice is a good combination.  Dr. Cathy Alinovi has said “Studies have shown that brown rice contains “bound” antioxidants that are released by intestinal bacteria, as opposed to antioxidants in fruit which are considered “free” and quickly absorbed into the blood stream.” Brown Rice is occasionally good for your cat as well.

Is Buckwheat Flour Gluten Free

Not a cereal or grain though similar in size to wheat grains whole buckwheat is a wild rhubarb relative fruit placing it on the pseudo cereal list. Buckwheat or Fagopyrum esculentum is gluten free except in instances of cross-contamination.  When planting

buckwheat seedlings appear within three to five days and it is ready for harvest in ten to twelve weeks according to Cornell University. Photo at right shows buckwheat in full flower.

After removing the fruits hull, the inside groats of buckwheat can be roasted to make kasha or ground to make buckwheat flour.  Kasha describes a porridge made from any whole grain in most parts of the world.

So why all is buckwheat getting all this attention. Perhaps because it’s used globally as a staple and alternative flour in combination with other flours since it lacks gluten. It’s been grown over 4,000 years in India and Nepal and other parts of Asia. Perhaps you’re familiar with these buckwheat dishes:

Rich in protein, iron, calcium, and vitamin C, buckwheat  has been placed in the super food category by some while others warn that buckwheat flour based noodles and pancakes have a higher glycemic load than the more healthy groats. Stone grinding the flour leaves the germ more intact than roller processes yielding a coarser texture with more flavor.

There are several places you can buy gluten free buckwheat flour. Bob’s Red Mill carries organic buckwheat flour, pancake mix, whole buckwheat groats, porridge or hot cereal, and whole grain kasha found at many grocers and King Arthur’s has gluten free buckwheat flour in 2-pound fresh-lock bags and recipes for buckwheat flour bread, Buckwheat the Ultimate Guideblini, and Stromboli. You can also buy Hodgson Mills buckwheat flour ground from select groats with that nutty flavor made for generations from grocers, direct or at  The Arrowhead Mills brand may be available in your area. North Carolina’s High Mountain Farms also sells a organic stone milled buckwheat flour. As for organic sprouted buckwheat flour that can be found at Blue Mountain Organics, and Shiloh Farms.Cooking with Buckwheat Flour

For buckwheat flour based recipes Dr. Jonathan Doue has written Buckwheat: The Ultimate Recipe Guide, and Jeen van der Meer has a cookbook called Cooking with Buckwheat Flour that may be helpful for adding this flavor profile into your diet. Perhaps you’d rather make your own buckwheat flour at home with a simple food processor or grain mill.