Gluten-Free Cereals

Whatever your age the search for a gluten-free cereal may not be as daunting as it first appears. If you’re looking for something basic without allot of ingredients you can’t get more basic than Quaker Oats, Bob’s Red Mill, or McCann’s rolled and steel-cut oatmeal products. The common perception is that if oats is separated from wheat, barley, and rye grains so that it will not contaminate the oats it should be gluten free. That would make sense if you are sensitive to the wheat protein gliadin, barley protein hordein, or secalin in rye. However, if you experience bloating, headaches, and stomach discomfort it may be from avenin, a gluten protein found in oats. One in 165 persons was discovered to have avenin-sensitive enteropathy in controlled studies. Cheerios is also made from oats.

Some of the most popular rice cereals are Kellogg’s Special K, and the Chex brand from General Mills with flavors like Honey Nut, Blueberry, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Corn, and Vanilla. Don’t forget Corn Flakes from Nestlé and EnviroKidz, Erewhon, Nature’s Path, and General Mills as well as the more sugar laden Lucky Charms, and Van’s Blissfully Berry, Cocoa Sensation, and Cinnamon Heaven Cereals. Cream of Rice is that perfect hot cereal for babies to the elderly.

You can make your own gluten-oat-free granola as well. Perhaps a granola from the folk from Bare Naked who make Cacao & Cashew Butter Granola, as well as Dark Chocolate and Sea Salt, Peanut Butter and Honey, Coconut and Cashew, Trail Mix and Dark Chocolate snack flavors.

Barbara’s Puffins has two cereals with gluten free ingredients multigrain and honey rice, although they are made in a factory that also produces products containing gluten.

Allot of choices from manufacturers and do it at home recipes. Many grocery stores have their own generic brands to choose from as well.

Advertisements

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.