Gluten-Free Pasta

Pasta consumption as a whole has decreased over the past few years but manufacturers are adjusting with over 14 percent of new pasta products launched in 2016 globally being gluten free.  Your families favorite recipes may include spaghetti and meatballs, tuna noodle casserole, baked Ziti, stiffed Manicotti, Lasagna, Pesto Pasta to name a few. If you were Amish or of German heritage the extra-thick noodles for ham or chicken pot pie was common fare. There are over 300 shapes according to Luciana Squadrilli.

Gluten intolerance can be developed at any age. Regardless if you’re following a gluten-free diet doesn’t mean you have to eliminate that dish of pasta. Out of 15 popular brands Brad Leone at Bon Appétit and his team picked the Andean Dream’s rice flour and quinoa spaghetti and Ancient Harvest’s corn and quinoa spaghetti, tied for first place.

Popular brands include Ancient Harvest, Barilla, Bionaturae, Jovial, Schar, Tinkyada, truRoots, Mueller, and Manischewitz. Your favorite gluten free dish may now be Spaghetti, Fettuccine, Ziti, Penne, Rigatoni, Elbows, Linguine, Rotini, Shells, Garden Pagodas, Veggie Curls, Lasagna, Fusilli, Egg Tagliatelle, Farfalle, Casarecce, Cupellini, Red Lentil Sedanini, wide egg noodles.  When cooked, bake it, stuff it, dress it with a good olive oil or your favorite gluten free sauce.

Is Rice Gluten-Free

Over half of the world’s population eats rice with almost 90 percent being grown by Asian farmers. It is one of the popular gluten-free grains for people with celiac disease. Sticky rice, also called glutinous rice, refers to the rice’s stickiness not it’s gluten content. No matter if we’re talking about brown rice, white rice, or wild rice they are all gluten-free. Although wild rice is not really rice it’s a North American plant that is similar and higher in nutritional value.

Opportunities for gluten to be added or cross contaminated to the rice would occur with harvesting and transportation, added seasonings, other ingredients, and bulk bin containers. Often confused rice pilaf is usually made with orzo which is not gluten free. Neither are Rice A Roni products gluten-free. Several rice companies have stepped up to the plate to produce some gluten-free box mixes like McCormick’s Zatarain’s, Minute Rice,  and Uncle Ben’s responded to an inquiry concerning 9 of their product mixes. There are numerous manufacturers that are producing rice pastas as well. Allrecipies recently picked their Top-10 Winners.IMG_6458[1]

Varieties of rice from different places in the world have trace amounts of arsenic. It’s important to include other sources of carbohydrates like beans, lentils, amaranth, buckwheat, corn, quinoa, potatoes, popcorn, millet, sorghum, teff and gluten-free oats in your diet as well.

If you experience boating or other celiac symptoms after eating you may want to ask your doctor for advice or gluten antibody testing.